People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

Drinks with a high amount of sugar become popular in daily beverage list. Many reasons can be given to explain this phenomenon which necessitates the implementation of appropriate measures to address this issue.

There are many factors leading to the fact that people choose sugar-based drink as their favourite drink. Firstly, its taste is accepted easily by our sense because of how comfortable it is. Different from spicy, sweet is more pleasant than it can adapt with people in various ages, genders and the more sugar is consumed, the higher level of sweetness that our bodies need. This leads to an adverse tendency which brings diseases to the digestive system such as diabetes, slow metabolism. Secondly, advertisement is affecting directly to our awareness. The way of those commercial influences our society is exaggerating the effects of sugar-based beverages so that people will give credit to what is popular nowadays.

Various measures can be taken to redress this situation. The government can impose a restriction on this type of drink and create a limit in sugar level for each 100ml of beverage. By doing this, a lot of companies will have to cut down some products because of high reproduce fee. Moreover, to make consumers drink less by themselves, gaining medical knowledge may be the most powerful solution. Doctors or someone who specializes in this field can co-operate with influencers to spread the information so that it will be easier to stimulate the development of awareness.

In conclusion, although sugar-based drinks gain popularity from many causes, steps can be taken to alleviate this issue.