People are having more and more sugar-based drinks.

What are the reasons? What can be done to make people drink less?

The level of carbonated beverage consumption has surged recently. The main culprits behind this phenomenon are mostly addictive ingredients as well as inexpensive prices, and the possible solutions could be more stringent governmental regulations in tandem with news dissemination.

The unprecedented rate of soft drink consumption can be blamed for soda addition and their affordable costs. To begin with, these sparkling beverages often contain multiple stimulants such as caffeine, sugar and artificial sweeteners which have been proved to be extremely addictive if drinks consume them on a daily basis. Many people have an uphill struggle to live without seltzer for only one day, showing the total dependency on such sweetened drinks. Usually, addicts consume an average of 2 soda cans for each meal. Over time, their addiction climbs up, continually urging them to drink for more satisfaction, which undermines their general health quickly. The other catalyst for this threatening tendency is that sugary beverages are sold at sensible prices. This is because companies mass-produce products to guarantee that they could be purchased by any individuals from different economic backgrounds. Fresh water and mineral water, in contrast, are healthy yet at comparatively higher prices; therefore, they are unlikely to be selected rather than the carbonated drinks on the same supermarket counters.

The matter could be curbed by both legislators and the mass media. Firstly, it is a good idea that the government imposes heavy taxes on sweet beverages. As a result, there would be a rise in the retail prices if these drinks are attached to the tax increase. Japan is the pioneering country to have taken that action when introducing additional charges for sugar-based drinks to prevent the public from health risk issues. Consumers’ behavior, thanks to this policy, has changed swiftly, aiming for more vegetable or fruit drinks. Finally, the media also has a role to play in adjusting the customers’ habits. By broadcasting the information as regards physical problems owing to excessive use of soda, the media could step by step makes buyers understand potential risks and switch to healthier options, creating a gradual drop in the rate of soda purchase.

In summary, seltzer waters are enormously consumed for the two main reasons: habit-forming ingredients and reasonable prices. Where possible, an introduction of high taxation and social media dissemination should be promulgated to contain this threat.