People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What can be done to make people drink less?

Soft drinks are gaining in popularity and there has been an increase in the number of people consuming these content products. There are an awful lot of reasons for this problem, ranging from the feelings of pleasure to providing energy for people, and some feasible remedies to reduce their consumption of sugar-based drinks.

First of all, people tend to consume more sugary drinks due to the proportion of stimulus accompanied with those ones. They make individuals pleased and cheerful, thus being addicted to them. Besides, soft drinks have a temporary effect, which helps in dispelling our thirst and is really useful to provide calories, especially people who have low blood pressure, sugar-contained products are the ideal choices for them. Furthermore, owing to the ubiquity of sugar-based drinks, people can usually come across them on every single road to their workplace, schools, etc, thus tempting us and encouraging us to buy them.

To address this phenomenon, education is on the top of recommendations. People should be made aware of the negative impacts of soft drinks, which gradually wear away our health and lead to some health problems like obesity and diabetes. Instead of drinking unhealthy drinks, they had better replace them with fresh water, which is both good and integral in facilitating humans' metabolism. What's more, the government needs to introduce some legislation to reduce the sales of soft drinks like enforcing heavy taxes on companies producing quantitative sugar-based products as well as subsidies for some firms selling healthy and fresh fruit juice.

In conclusion, the increase of sugary drinks results from both individuals per se besides their environment and practical solutions for this problem require the involvement of the government and its citizens.