Today, TV channels show more men's sports than women's sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time for women's sport and men's sport?

Nowadays, men's sports have much wider coverage than women's on broadcasts. This essay will outline some driving forces behind this phenomenon and some reasons why both genders should be provided equal sports coverage.

To start with, higher profit is the primary cause for the imbalance in the number of men's and women's sports being shown on TV. First, the majority of sports viewers are men and they usually gather in groups to watch their favorite and latest competitions. Let's take football as an example. It is not uncommon for people to see a horde of young men drinking coffee and cheering in a cafeteria during football season while when meeting others, women show a great preference for talking about shopping, the trendiest products, or gossiping about celebrities and recent fights on social media. Second, in sports, male athletes play at a much higher level than females, like boxing or wrestling, men have the greater physical strength and thus making the competitions more attractive and thrilling. Therefore, when showing more TV programs about men's sports, producers can gain more money thanks to the huge number of male audiences particularly and sports lovers generally.

Nevertheless, the dominance of men's sports programs on television should not exist. TV program producers should balance the fluency of men's and women's sports performances to create and enhance gender equality in society. Thanks to it, women can feel assured that they have the same degree of importance as men and have more courage and confidence to take part in sports tournaments. Besides, nowadays, women's participation in sports is not appreciated. People tend to think female athletes are not strong and determined enough to compete with others. However, they also strive for the best and should be given full recognition to compensate for their dedication. Additionally, showing more women's programs relating to sports activities can help in gaining their reputation, thus allowing them to be involved in endorsement and earn much higher salaries, which on the other side, maybe beneficial for their country's economic growth.

In conclusion, why women's sports programs do not receive decent coverage in this day and age results from the aforementioned reasons and it is important to balance the appearance of men's and women's sports performances on TV programs.