In some countries, children are often told that they can achieve

anything if they try hard enough

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is a common belief for children in some countries that once they strive, they can have anything they want. This essay will outline some advantages of this belief accompanied by its possible drawbacks if children do not "try hard" in the right way.

To start with, this statement brings children some considerable benefits. First, children will have more motivation and belief to achieve their goals. This belief acts as an incentive for them to try their best and work incessantly to fulfill their dreams. They always keep in their minds that success is right ahead, so if they try hard, they can shorten their ways to reach their targets. Second, children can become more determined and strong-minded, because they believe in what they are told, and never give up easily until having what they desire. For example, if one person is asked to run 1 kilometer without stopping to receive 100 dollars, he will do it at all costs to meet the requirement. Similarly, children are taught that if they work with enough effort (1 kilometer), they will possess whatever they want (100 dollars). Therefore, this statement is a significant encouragement to help children in their journey of becoming successful.

Nevertheless, there are some noteworthy downsides besides its considerable merits. Trying hard is not enough and children need other not less important factors to satisfy their desires. First, children will have more difficulties surmounting failures. It is engraved in their mind that trying hard and hard, and you will have what you want. Therefore, when something does not happen as they expect, the young will be very disappointed and this will be a challenge for them to accept their defeats as well as recover energy to start all over again. Furthermore, children may become more stubborn and lose their flexibility. The statement inculcates in their life and youngsters turn their minds to arduous work and are immersed in it without noticing that their methods are not appropriate and systematic. They focus exclusively on trying hard but not having an objective and inclusive view to change their schemes and solve problems when being failed more methodically and smartly. Therefore, they can dismiss opportunities and finally being weary because of the lack of flexibility.

In conclusion, besides being told to try hard, children should be taught how to optimize their ability to maximize the strengths of arduous work and lower the hindrance of the aforementioned belief.