Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep.

What problems can lack of sleep cause?

What can be done about lack of sleep?

Living in a fast-paced society like nowadays, people often suffer from high pressure in both work and study. Consequently, many of them complain that they are usually deprived of adequate sleep. This is an extremely concerning phenomenon, which can result in lower productivity and have negative impacts on their health notwithstanding, possibly be addressed by some positive changes in their lifestyles.

To start with, sleeping disorders cause lots of unexpectedly bad effects on people's life. Scientists have said that the standard duration of one’s sleep is 8 hours on average, so if they don’t spend enough time on their night's rest, their brains cannot function appropriately. First, they will feel sleepy and demotivated the next morning. Sleeping becomes more tempting and at that time, they just immediately want to abandon all work to have a good sleep. Therefore, continuing their uncompleted tasks will make them feel exhausted and get angry more easily, which can lead to some nonsense quarrels at the workplace. Furthermore, having an inattentive head is like a minefield. Some mistakes and wrong decisions will occur, ranging from just minor to important ones, which may cause disastrous effects on the whole corporation, even bankruptcy. Second, inadequate sleep will gradually wear out human health. If their brains and bodies are not given reasonable time to rest and retrieve memories, they may have to fight with some diseases like dementia, diabetes, cardiac troubles since their body functions cannot work properly. Consequently, their mental health and happiness are also influenced due to higher stresses and strains they have to suffer when not sleeping enough and frequently not performing well.

To prevent this phenomenon, changing human’s bad habits is a quite realistic remedy. People tend to use their phones to surf webs or chat with friends and watch movies before going to sleep, thus the light from their phones deceives the brain to make it think that it is daytime. This unhealthy habit is the driving force behind staying up late and having inappropriate rest, so abandoning it can make a considerable positive change in human night sleep. What is more, people must organize their time methodically. In this day and age, everyone wants to strive for the best and usually works much harder to gain higher salaries. Therefore, they don’t have sufficient time to spend with their family or even caring for themselves. Once they can improve their work-life balance, individuals will not only acquire higher performance at work but also be less stressed out and more relieved when closing their eyes. Besides, taking regular physical exercise or doing yoga and meditation are important to make their entire body relax and help them have a good night’s sleep. According to recent research, those who often go jogging, cycling, or running have a maximum heart rate of 75%, which allows them to enjoy better and deeper sleep as well as maintain their awake condition during the day.

In conclusion, sleep deprivation is detrimental to humans, in terms of both their career and personal health, which can be solved by some primary alternatives in individuals’ habits, attitudes, and lifestyles.