Today, TV channels show more men's sports than women's sports. Why is this the case? Should TV channels give equal time for women's sport and men's sport?
These days, there is a significant difference between men and
women’s sports coverage on television. I believe that women’s sport
should get just as much coverage as men’s, and will outline my
reasons in the following essay.
To begin with, there are many reasons for the dominance of men
sports programs on television. Due to a large proportion of sports
viewers being male, television channels tend to broadcast mens
sports programs to maximize their ratings and profits. Take football
as an example. Inside a coffee shop, it is common to see a group of
young men discussing a recent men’s football match, while women
show a greater preference for discussing other topics like shopping
or celebrity gossip. Additionally, because men are usually physically
more stronger and faster than women, they tend to play at a much
higher level , which makes men’s sports much more exciting to
watch.
However, I am of the opinion that it is necessary for television
channels to provide equal sports coverage of both genders . Firstly,
it helps to create gender equality in society and increases the
participation rate of women in sport. Every time women go out onto
the field, they give it their all knowing that their best will likely go
unnoticed, and therefore just like men, female athletes should receive
full recognition for their effort. Secondly, better media coverage
also enables women to make money from endorsements which
improves their income. That is to say, more television exposure for
the female players will lead to major deals with endorsers and higher
salaries in the future through advertising contracts.