People are living in a ‘throwaway society’, using things for a short time and then throwing them away. What are the causes of this? What problems does it lead to?

In today’s world, people are living in a consumerism culture. To put it in another way, people are more likely to use the items they have for a short time then discard them instead of fixing them up to reuse. In this essay, an attempt will be made to investigate the factors which have led to this phenomenon and also examine the issues which have resulted from it.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this trend is that in this day and age, there is mass production of non-durable goods which are often used once and thrown away. To rephrase, these products are much cheaper and more convenient than durable ones. Therefore, this type of products catches the attraction of a large number of customers. One example to demonstrate this view is that according to the statistics of Earthday, about one trillion single-use plastic bags are used annually across the globe. Consequently, disposable plastic bags are much cheaper than other kinds of package. For that reason, people tend to abandon the items they used rather than fix them.

As the information mentioned above, this trend is caused by several reasons regarding excessive production. Consequently, there are numerous negative influence that will arise from this situation. However, the most outstanding effect which can be easily seen is that this social trend is contributing to the seriousness of green issues due to more waste, especially plastic and chemicals which take hundreds of years to decompose, is discharged into surroundings. Meanwhile, the vast majority of this is untreated directly aggravating soil, air and water pollution. This is shown by the following statistics. In fact, of the 8.3 billion metric tons that has been produced, 6.3 billion metric tons has become plastic waste. Of that, only 9% has been recycled. To rephrase, the vast majority of that is accumulating in landfills or slaughtering off in the natural environment as litter. As these figures reveal, it is undisputed that this trend exacerbates the situation of the environment these days.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that the consumerism culture is attributed to the enormous production in the contemporary world, which leads to the seriousness of the environment.