People in the community now could buy cheaper consumer goods. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's world, it is a common belief that people in the community can buy consumer items at a low cost. This trend could create certain benefits, but I believe that its drawbacks are far weightier.

On the one hand, it is said that purchasing inexpensive products has some noteworthy positive effects. First of all, there would be an increase in living standards, especially in many developing countries. It is true that families with an average income can now afford more consumer goods. To illustrate, according to Zing, which is one of the most prestigious online newspapers in Vietnam, approximately 25 years ago, a black and white TV set cost several million VND. However, today, an average-income family can afford an LCD TV from some famous brands, like Samsung or LG, at a much-reduced price of 5 million VND. As a result, many ordinary people in Vietnam have been living with a greater degree of comfort and convenience. Furthermore, this phenomenon would encourage positive competition. This might be explained by the fact that many items with similar functions and appearances are on the market since businesses have to innovate their products to stay competitive. Therefore, purchasing inexpensive goods not only helps citizens to get more affordable products but also helps generate revenue for society.

On the other hand, few disadvantages have arisen from consuming cheap goods. First and foremost, the reduction in quality is an expected result. As an illustration, many companies mass-produce at lower operating costs to meet the demand of the public, who mostly opt for inexpensive and low-quality products regardless of what brand name they have. For instance, an iPhone produced in China is reasonable for many less wealthy individuals in Vietnam, but it often breaks down after several days of use. Moreover, there would be no progress in commodity development. It can be attributed to a generation who is reluctant to spend their money on improving products' attributes, which leads to an error in technical growth.

In summary, despite the benefits that inexpensive products can bring, they still do more harm than good. From my point of view, cheap consumer goods are not usable even for an acceptable time and the government needs to enforce new laws to reduce the amount of low-quality associated with inexpensive commodities in the future.