People continue to commit crimes even after being punished. Why does this happen? How can crime be prevented?

It is witnessed that reoffending has been prevalent over the past few decades. Two major reasons stand out as responsible for this issue, which can be tackled by a number of solutions.

To begin with, when a person continues behaving illegally despite their previous criminal records, this can be attributed to two contributing factors. Firstly, in many countries, the government is believed to be soft on crimes. Therefore, after committing a crime, the consequences offenders have to suffer is not enormous enough, so this cannot deter them from perpetuating dangerous behaviours. Secondly, studies about prisoners have revealed that not only do they often lack of professional competence but also feel as if they are segregated from the community during serving their sentences. As a result, due to this insufficiency, no sooner do they reintegrate into society than ex-criminals face an immense barrier to a fresh start, which makes them likely to turn into crimes again for survival.

To remedy the aforementioned obstacles, several measures should be taken into consideration. From a legal perspective, it is favorable for law makers to tighten control over a number of severe crimes. Indeed, if the authority maintains the policy of zero tolerance, in which a heavier cost must be suffered by wrongdoers, that full weight of the law will make them less likely to reoffend. From a management perspective, regarding to prisons, a novel approach, which offers more chances for rehabilitation, is highly recommended. For example, vocational training, which provides criminals with practical skills in their sentence duration, can be a significant strategy assisting them to earn a living and, therefore, steer clear from illegal behaviours after being released back into society.

To conclude, only by changes in regulations and policies for offenders will the challenge of reoffending be thoroughly resolved.