As people live longer and longer, the idea of cloning human beings in order to provide spare parts is becoming a reality. The idea horrifies most people, yet it is no longer mere science fiction.

To what extent do you agree with such a procedure?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

The cloning of animals has been occurring for a number of years now, and this has now opened up the possibility of cloning humans too. Although there are clear benefits to humankind of cloning to provide evolution experiment, I believe it raises a number of worrying ethical issues.

Due to breakthroughs in medical science and improved diets, people are living much longer than in the past. This, though, has brought with it problems. As people age, their organs can fell for replacing. Therapeutic cloning, which seeks, for example, to use the genetic material from a patient's own cells to generate nerve cells to repair damaged spinal cord is already being used and is distinct from human cloning. If humans were cloned, their organs could then be used to replace those of sick people. It is currently the case that there are often not enough organ donors around to fulfil this need, so cloning humans would overcome the issue as there would then be a ready supply.

However, for good reasons, many people view this as a worrying development. First of all, there are religious arguments against it. It would involve creating other human beings and then eventually killing them in order to use their organs, which it could be argued is murder. This is obviously a sin according to religious texts. Also, dilemmas would arise over what rights these people have, as surely they would be humans just like the rest of us. moreover, I believe that cloning will cost trillions of dollars and be too great a price when humanity has not yet entered the most flourishing stage of science.

To conclude, I do not agree with this procedure due to the ethical issues and dilemmas it would create. Cloning animals is a great step forward in science but to go further to cloning humanity is a huge waste of resources and manpower.