People living in the 21st century have a better quality of life than the previous centuries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

it is argued that the living standards of those living in the 21st centure are better that of those in previous eras. Personally, I think this statement is reasonable in that most people now have access to superior medical treatment and food than they could previously.

In the past, one of the most prominent reasons for the lower level of living quality was poor education. It is well-documented the only a tiny percentage of people were literate and capable of reasoning even in the most industrialized countries. This led to the low-paced development of medical technology and consequenlty poor hygiene among the general public, being attributed to high death rates and a short lifespan of 50 years old on average. Moreover, even though the arable land was much larger than it is now, a sizeable portion of world’s population were afflicted by hunger and food-related diseases, such as dysentery, due to the absence of appropriate agricultural and preservation technologies.

As for now, given the widespread implementation of compulsory education, there have been numerous scientific breakthroughs regarding medicine and food. These advancements have resulted in substantially higher crop yields and a wider range of medications, utimately alleviating global hunger and major diseases. For example, in 20th century famine and HIV were major problems in certain parts of Africa, while such issues are almost nonexistent in these areas because of the abundance of food and medicines. These achievements could not have been attained without increased level of education with time. It is, however, of note that today’s humans have been prone to more mental problems due to increased disquiets accrued from work pressure, which was not critical issue in previous centuries. Despite not being as life-threatening as other medical conditions, these mental issues certainly decrease people’s joy of life.

In conclusion, while advancements in food and medicine have demonstrably improved the average living standard, the rise of work-related anxiety and depression in the 21st century presents a new challenge demanding attention alongside the undeniable progress of our era.