People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some opinions claim that people who emigrate from their homeland to resettle in a new country should follow traditions and behaviours of native communities. I completely agree with this idea.

It is apparent that newcomers would confront with many difficulties if they are not similar to native inhabitants. Firstly, in most communities people trend to live in harmony with familiar ones, and therefore, it is difficult to have a stable life if we always express strange behaviours. For example, if we need supporters who can help us in daily activities such as building our houses, we can get a sense of frustration since nobody intend to help weird neighbours who they have a downfall of conversation. Secondly, some particular governments impose official bans on some activities which are normal with you. Running a business regarding to gum in Singapore is a case in point. In 1992, this country’s government banned on chewing gum and violators can be tough on crime and even deal with a custodial sentence.

Nevertheless, if newcomers minic indigenous traditions and customs, they would get many benefits from native communities. From a perspective of economy, immersing in the indigenous values enables newcomers to deeply understand demands and expectations of native community, and therefore, they can make the most of traditional values and customs of inhabitants to grow their businesses. Furthermore, we can enjoy a wide range of fantastic traditional activities with hospitable native people. Each community have many festivals and traditional customs which obviously facilitate new relationships and even eliminate breakdowns in conversation.

In conclution, I totally agree that people who intend to dwell in a new location should try to get accustomed to indigenous codes of conduct so that they will have a better life in other countries rather than those who always set in their ways.