People sleep less than before in many countries.

Why do people sleep less?

What effect does it have on an individually and on society?

It is thought by some that in many countries around the world people have more sleepless hours than in the past. Nowadays people have hectic pace of life as a result they do not have enough time to sleep and this trend has negative effects to people’s health and to whole society.

According to recent research, people have to work nowadays more than in the past as a result people have hectic pace of life. With the development of our society, people have very heavy workload and they usually have to work overtime and sometimes on the weekends. Furthermore, the population in urban areas is growing and people have to live far from business centers and they have to travel big distances in order to get to their jobs. As a result, people’s stress level is increasing and people have sleepless nights or they just do not have enough time to sleep.

When people have many sleepless nights, their mental health and physical health become poor. The consequences of poor health is that people will suffer from different diseases and will not be able to work as the average human. Furthermore people with poor health will not be able to have families as they will spend all their time and money to treatment. As a result when people do not have families and have health problems the demographic level is decreasing. This development will have adverse consequences for whole society in future. For example, some developed European countries suffer from a lack of workforce as its demographic level is very low.

In conclusion, as people have to work overtime and travel long distances to get to their destination they do not have enough time to sleep as a result the average standard of health is becoming lower due to this development.