Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned. do you agree or disagree?

These days, shopping bags made up of plastic are in trend because they are easily available and people do not want to carry jute bags or any other reusable bags to the supermarket. Excessive use of plastic is becoming very dangerous to the environment especially to the soil and oceans. some masses consider that plastic bags should be banned, I am in accord with this statement and the following essay will discuss the plausible reasons.

To begin with, people use plastic bags and dump them in soil afterward. However, plastic does not dissolve in the soil as it is non-biodegradable, eventually stays in the ground forever. Consequently, the soil becomes futile leading to low crop production. Moreover, many grass-eating animals such as buffalos, cows eat plastic bags from the land and die due to choking. With regards to water, plastic bags have proven pernicious for the marine ecosystem as well. Plastic bags are thrown into water bodies that contaminate the oceans. In addition, if eaten by the aquatic organism can cause severe damage to their health. For example, many whales died by eating plastic bags in Australia. Thus, plastic bags are becoming perilous for sea life.

On the other hand, plastic is a material that is easily available and cheaper than paper bags. Furthermore, it is reusable or in other words, plastic bags and containers can be recycled. Therefore, instead of banning the production, they can be reused and recycled.

In conclusion, keeping in mind the pros and cons of plastic bags, I agree with the statement that plastic bags should be forbidden because they have devastating effects on the environment.