At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that nowadays, the number of young residents has become dominant compared to that of the old ones in some parts of the world. While the young population might have detrimental effects on society, it could also be significantly beneficial.

On the one hand, the increase in the youth population probably brings about numerous social problems. When there are more people in the working age, the labor market seems to be more competitive. As a result, underskilled and unqualified candidates are likely to face unemployment, the fact that leads to problems in decreasing standards of living. For example, unemployed people would find it challenging to afford to pay for rent, bills as well as foods daily, which are the fundamental needs of human beings. Furthermore, society is likely to encounter the risk of crimes and social disorders resulting from the low quality of life.

On the other hand, the prevalence of young people could also have positive impacts on the countries. Firstly, young residents are seemingly a good source of manual labors due to their stronger physical conditions in comparison with the elderly. There would be an advantage for countries targeting in industrial and agricultural fields requiring a large number of blue-color workers such as mining, food production. Secondly, the youngsters appear to be more creative in coming up with brilliant ideas and easier to adapt to new environments. Therefore, they are probably the main human resources contributing to innovation and development. Finally, the young population including a smaller number of pensioners helps the government to reduce the burden of providing assistance to support the old in society.

In conclusion, while the phenomenon of the young population can have several benefits, I hold that its disadvantages are more severe.