Some people believe that homicide can not be justified by killing the offender, instead life imprisonment is better. I strongly agree with this view because some people commit this crime unintentional.

Most people who have been accused of murder lack the intent. In other words, they could have killed while giving a corporal punishment to a misbehaving child. For instance, in Zimbabwe a parent was acquited of murder charge after the court examined the case and found that the child died after being hit on a sensitive area in the course of being disciplined. Clearly, this showed that not all people are killed intentionally. Therefore, killing the offender is actually ruthless.

Another reason why jail sentencing is a better option is that, the state can benefit through cheap labour from these prisoners. To illustrate this, in most countries, people who are charged with crime of killing human beings are convicted for long jail time with hard labour. In fact, they work in farms owned by Government for no payment. In contrast, if there is capital punishment, authorities would lose a lot of money in hiring of farm workers. Thereby, keeping the killer inmates alive is of benefit to the nations and the entire populations.

To conclude, I have completely accepted that killing of the people detained for murder is merciless since most of the cases proved that there was no evidence of aiming to kill. Furthermore, if these convicts are not killed, they can be utilised in national areas of production for free