Q : Many people believe that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the effect of social media has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that both individual people and society are negatively affected by social networking services, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from developments in social media. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the advent of social networking sites has revolutionised the way people communicate with others regardless of time and place considering that having access to the Internet is only needed. To be more specific, users are able to send messages to their friends as well as family members anywhere and at any time with greater ease. Furthermore, people can share interests with their acquaintances, which makes it possible for them to build a strong relationship with each other.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the advancement of social media merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument is that adolescents who generally have difficulty distinguishing right from wrong are vulnerable to being exposed to crimes considering that offenders are easily able to target them by creating numerous fake profiles on social networking sites. This can even lead to an increase in the number of abductions, exerting a harmful influence on society. In addition, a multitude of students and employees are more likely to become addicted to social networking services. As a result, excessive usage of these services often prevents pupils and workers from concentrating on their work or studies, detrimentally impacting on their work or academic performance. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.