Q9 : With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched natural places. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas?

Recently, the issue of resources has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some disadvantages to developing untouched spaces in order to produce raw materials, such as crude oil and gas, these are outweighed by the advantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that exploiting undeveloped land so as to secure natural resources should be discouraged do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that devotion to gaining oil and gas poses a threat to the environment considering that being equipped with a multitude of facilities that make it possible for developers to find fossil fuels with greater ease is necessary. Furthermore, developing natural land without taking into account environmental degradation accelerates the speed of global warming, which can even lead to climate change.

My opinion, however, is that making use of natural places in order to acquire natural resources exerts a positive influence on mankind. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that fossil fuels, derived from nature, helping human beings to have an improved standard of living are economical as generating renewable energy sources, including tidal power and solar power costs a fortune. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for making an effort to create fossil fuels, humans would be more likely to suffer from a lack of resources that can prevent people from facilitating various aspects of our life, from driving personal vehicles to operating businesses. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the benefits of developing natural areas to obtain resources surpass the drawbacks for the reasons discussed above.