Q: Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children.) To what extent do you agree ore disagree?

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that forcing pupils to undertake mandatory volunteering is necessary, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from obligatory voluntary activities. Perhaps the principal advantage is that volunteering makes it possible for youngsters to develop skills, such as problem-solving abilities, which is invaluable in their studies and even future career. Another benefit is that it allows adolescents to obtain a sense of responsibility as well as social skills. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for obligatory volunteering, students would be less likely to strengthen social bonds. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that encouraging teenagers to participate in mandatory voluntary work exerts a positive influence on them.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that obligatory volunteering merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that voluntary activities can cause students to become more stressed given that devotion to compulsory community service can occupy time that would otherwise be spent studying for exams. In other words, having less time to revise for exams often leads them to experience high levels of stress. Furthermore, mandatory charitable work deprives students of a chance to participate in leisure activities that help them relax. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.