Q1: Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of converting green spaces into residential areas has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that superseding eco-friendly facilities, such as gardens and parks, near the central area of the city by residential buildings in order to reduce time devoted to commuting to and from work should be encouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people should not remove environment-friendly amenities near the city business district so as to establish apartment blocks. Proponents of this argument insist that having gardens and parks makes it possible for working adults to take a rest that help them unwind during their lunchtime with greater ease. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for these amenities, a multitude of working people would have difficulty alleviating stress, exerting a detrimental influence on their work performance.

My opinion, however, is that it is an effective way of combating a high volume of traffic to substitute a myriad of skyscrapers accommodating citizens for green areas. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that if a large number of employees residing close to their workplaces travel to work by foot or bike, other dwellers in suburban areas would be less likely to experience traffic congestion, allowing citizens to have an improved standard of living. This is partly because the number of cars on roads would remarkably decrease. Moreover, depriving workers of less time dedicated to commuting to and from work enables them to focus more on their work. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that destroying green places close to the city centre and erect housing estates are necessary for the reasons discussed above.