Q5(수정한거 프린트이거로하는게낫겠다): It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books. films. and the Internet. TO what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of how to understand cultures of other places has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that people do not need to travel overseas in order to learn about the culture, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that travelling to foreign countries makes it possible for people to have a deeper understanding of different cultures. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that visiting overseas nations enables tourists not only to communicate with locals in person but also to mingle with them, leading travellers to acquire real knowledge related to local cultures. Furthermore, some materials, including books and films, often present biased information considering that these include intentions of writers or producers, preventing readers from understanding cultures precisely. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that first-hand experience is much more beneficial for learning about foreign cultures than second-hand experience.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend the idea that paying a visit to foreign nations is the sole way to have a tight grasp of other cultures. The most oft-cited argument is that the development of technology has revolutionised the way people gain a huge amount of information about other cultures regardless of time and place with greater ease. To be more specific, people even can reap knowledge about areas that they cannot visit owing to the advent of the Internet. As an illustration, one cultural heritage site designated by UNESCO that has numerous endangered species of birds in South Korea forbade people from travelling to that area in 2015 because a multitude of visitors took a heavy toll on the environment. However, people can obtain information about that place by using various methods, including the Internet. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.