Reducing global environmental damage should be handled by governments rather than individuals. Agree or Disagree?

It is undeniable that the environment these days has seriously deteriorated due to human activities such as carbon dioxide emissions, industrial agriculture, etc. While I accept that it is governments’ responsibility to alleviate this problem, I believe that individuals should also engage in dealing with the issue.

On the one hand , it is essential that figures of authority should pay attention to protecting and conserving the environment. Firstly, this is attributed to the fact that they have to be responsible for what they have done. For the past decade, many national authorities have imposed policies and initiated new projects that lead to habitat loss. For instance, deforestation has occurred on a global scale, especially in European countries, thus caused extinction of an influx of animal species. The second reason is because of governments' ability to exert significant influences that an ordinary person can not do, such as administering stricter punishments to deter lawbreakers from cutting down trees.

On the other hand, I assume that normal people also play a vital role in mitigating environmental damages. In fact, a minor change in each individual’s lifestyle can produce enormous positive impacts on environment. For instance, many Vietnamese people have embarked on adopting the zero-waste lifestyle and paying more attention to social activities aiming at supporting governments and protecting the natural habitat . In addition, I believe that citizen should have a say in environmental issues since maintaining the environmental sustainability needs a global engagement.

In conclusion, both governments and ordinary citizens should be involved in the environmental conservation as their role is both essential in equal measure While governments can establish progressive policies that reduce environmental damages, individuals can help improve the environment by living a zero-waste lifestyle.