The governments' investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

There is no doubt that art has made significant contribution to human’s life in today’s world. Therefore, while I accept that it is necessary for the national authorities to provide funding for public services, I strongly disagree with the idea that it is not worth subsidizing artworks.

On the one hand, I accept that governments should allocate resources to improve public services. This will result in a better quality of life for citizens. For instance, in Viet Nam, there is a great demand for more types of public transportation such as buses, since not many people are affordable to own a motorbike or car to get to their workplace. In addition, more public green spaces will provide people with tranquility and relaxation, which will make them feel more comfortable with city lives.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that works of art are of importance to people’s lives these days. Firstly, it is artistic creation that help people recognize and appreciate the beauty of humans and natures, which make them be more grateful and positive. Secondly, art can also be considered as a form of entertainment. In fact, students who are under pressure from their schools and studies tend to listen to music as a way to reduce stress and boost emotions. Finally, through arts, many inspirational artists are capable of conveying meaningful messages to many people and expressing their own ideas.

In conclusion, despite a need of investment in public services, I assume that governments should pay equal attention to artworks and people producing arts. Arts play a vital role and create great values to our society.