Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that food’s advertisements should be banned since overeating could possess potential threats to human as smoking could. Personally, I disagree with the statement since smoking harms people’s health anyway, but eating properly could still be advantageous.

On the one hand, it overeating might negatively affect human’s health. The fact is that many individuals are likely to have obesity when absorbing excessive amount of fat. For example, people who eating fast food products frequently are prone to gain weight and weaken the immune system because of the extravagant amount of fat they obtained. Moreover, overeating might harm people’s health when they are on an unbalanced diet. It is possible for people to lack of adequate nutrients to boost their health when their daily meals are short of important ingredients, namely some sorts of essential vitamins. Indeed, it is severely harmful when people eat in an inappropriate way.

On the other hand, smoking owns evident harmful effect, while eating in a suitable way still improve human’s health. Lots of research has pointed out that smoking severely degrades people’s health in anyway. Smokers are usually on the edge of having cancer, since toxic chemicals in cigarettes’ smoke possesses perilous effects to human’s organs, such as the lungs, let alone the non-smokers who inactively inhale the smoke. Conversely, having suitable diets certainly affords people better health. It is apparent that when the body is provided the necessary nutrients, people could stay healthy. If people are aware of maintaining daily meals that are balanced in terms of nutrients, there would be a sufficient intake of vital vitamins and minerals to boost people’s health.

In short, It seems to me that since smoking damages people’s health in every way, its advertisements should definitely be banned, but not for those of food products because they only harm people when consumed inappropriately.