Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sen to prison commit crime when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem.

There is no denial that most of ex-prisoners continue their old path of committing crime besides a minority of reformed offenders. In this situation, there are a plenty of factors that brings about seriousness of this issue. Even though tackling such problem will not be straight forward, there are measures can be taken which I will demonstrate in this essay.

The driving forces behind this trend are numerous that it worth for human to take into account. One of the primary contributors is that serving a prison sentence are means of punishment so it is by no means act as a rehabilitation to reform prisoners. For instance, harsh penalty imposed on offenders which aim to cause abhorrence and keep them away from crime as well as the prison, however, sometimes it might be counterproductive. Another predominant factor is that they may have a sense of alienation of in the worst cases are being bullied by more dangerous criminals without the management of jailers. In results, after set free, there will be a profound impact on their emotion as well as psychology which turn them into new offenders. Furthermore, prisoners can imitate behaviour and be influenced by other offenders.

In order to address such serious issue I have expressed above, there are responsibilities lie in hands of government and individual. First of all, beside punishment, government should provide education to raise awareness or offer training class in order to help ex-lawbreakers to seek for a job and earn their living after being free. For instance, in some jail through the world, these measures have been carried out such as Korea where cooking class or mechanic class are opened from government subsidise money. Secondly, it is necessary for jailer to isolate dangerous offender from petty criminal so that there will be no longer negative affect and encouragement to re-offend.

In conclusion, although the causes of this pressing problem are important to drawn a concern in society. In contrast, there are also several solution in order to turn a prisoner into an helpful citizen.