Rising Sea Levels: Causes and Effects

It is true that the exorable increase in the global temperature and a steady rise in sea level are threatening the survival of humans. In this essay, I will show the dire repercussions of this phenomenon and propose several solutions to deal with these problems.

The foremost issue of global warming and rising sea level is the submergence of homes, especially in coastal areas. This is the major proportion of global population residence and if the sea level rises by the smallest margin, they are forced to flee to other grounds. Rising sea levels could cause the water levels to increase and invade the residential areas thus causing many problems for the locals. Firstly, higher sea levels mean the surge of the father island areas and contaminating water sources. The implication of this is that polluted water will have adverse effects on not only the health of citizens but also the irrigation and farming, eventually leading to a food crisis. Secondly, the relocation would result in substantial economic damage, because people abandon their houses and assets. The tsunami rushing into Japan in 2010 perfectly exemplifies this situation, when millions of people were displaced and thus lost their livelihood. Moreover, due to greenhouse gases and resultant rising sea levels, there is a threat of extinction of a lot of kinds of plants and animals. The presence of salt water triggers the disruption of the ecosystem which results in vanishing a lot of plants. In addition to making a change in the soil and plants, the wildlife on the beaches will be hurt by rapid changes in climate conditions.

Therefore, governments, especially in countries along coastlines, should allocate more funding to building up flood protection to address the aforementioned problems. dams and floodgates must be constructed in some areas that are vulnerable to flooding. Infrastructure should be maintained regularly. Furthermore, scientists should conduct more studies on flooding proofs because people can not afford to leave whenever sea levels rise. In fact, there are many tremendous successes in covering houses with watertight which prevents houses permeating, thus people can shelter in their own houses in the event of flooding.

In conclusion, the consequences of global warming and rising sea level are extremely serious and proposed populations should be taken to combat the impacts of this phenomenon