For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is maintain by some that the role of teachers is of greater significance when it comes to fostering children’s intellect and individual characteristics. I strongly disagree as I would contend that teachers and parents’ roles combined are essential to facilitate children’s comprehensive development.

On the one hand, teachers’ role proves to be critically important in children’s intellectual and social growth. To begin with, teachers are professionally trained, coupled with their long-term teaching practice. Prior to becoming proper educators, students are required to fulfill intensive courses in such areas as psychology or pedagogical skills, which would mean that children under teachers’ guidance can understand the lessons and acquire other useful skills easily. In addition, teachers’ role in today’s world also involves delivering valuable life lessons. During their initial school years, students encounter other children of the same age and begin to form some of their first friendship. In this case, teachers help students become independent and form their own relationships and intervene when necessary.

On the other hand, parental involvement can have an equally significant influence on children’s cognitive ability and social development. Firstly, homeschool parents can dedicate most of their time to providing high-quality and meticulously planned lessons, so the children would be able to progress at their own pace. Secondly, it goes without saying that parents are those who supply a child with their very first opportunities to develop a relationship, communicate and interact with their peers. In other words, parenting involves discussing children’s social relationships or conflicts and encouraging them to work out everyday problems on their own. This would therefore help children cultivate healthy relationships and build a strong sense of community, for instance.

In conclusion, both teachers and parents have an equally important role to play in terms of the cultivation of an academically and socially successful child.