: Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that schools solely focus on academic lessons and examinations rather than investing in activities such as cookery or dressmaking. While I agree that pursuing a successful academic education is essential, I also believe that schools should not cut down on these extra-curricular activities.

On the one hand, schools provide their students academic knowledge to chase after a proper career. Many jobs on the market require an academic knowledge, particularly for high-flyers who pursue a successful career to become a lawyer, doctor. If a literary talent, for example, is more serious on academic literature and fiction than hand-made activities, she will find it worth taking an arduous process to earn high score on the examination. Furthermore, in some extended families, older generations can impart those handicraft lessons to their offspring at some certain points.

On the other hand, I believe that those skills such as cookery or dressmaking should be considered as an essential subject at institutions. First, those subject help children to get away from tremendous hours studying academic lessons. Students are often put under pressure that it is their duty to get a high score when sitting on exams. Taking part in those extra-curricular activities is an opportunity to get away from it all and even boost interest in compulsory lessons. Second, schools should not cut down on those subjects because not all children have a supportive family to teach them all skills. A single-parent household may not have a father who shows their children how to work with woods, or working mothers lacking time to cook a meal with their children.

In conclusion, while pursuing a successful education is school's priority, I believe that it is necessary to preserve those extra-curricular activities as compulsory subjects.