Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

People hold different views about whether scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments or by privately-owned companies. From my perspective, I completely agree with the first point of view that scientific research should be funded and supervised solely by the state.

On the one hand, privately-run companies argue that they are willing to undertake scientific research; however, there are two potential dangers in this. First and foremost, the ultimate aim of private-own companies is maximizing profits; therefore, many corporations intentionally alter results slightly to serve this purpose. For instance, in my country, there are several scandals about new products being introduced hurriedly after inadequate experiments. This could bring many deleterious influences on the health of customers who consume these products as they might have undesirable side effects. Additionally, leaving scientific research into areas namely genetic engineering in the hands of privately-operated companies may have profound social consequences. In fact, Gm crops with unproven effects could inflict severe damages on the ecosystem.

On the other hand, I support the views of those who believe that governments should be the sole organizations which are responsible for scientific research. Firstly, if governments provide funding and observe scientific research, it seems that we do not have to worry about the safety and effectiveness of new products because governments aim to enhance the standard of living for their residents, not to break into new markets or to gain competitive advantages. For example, any new medicine dispensed by a pharmacy or hospital has undergone rigorous testing that was carried out by the government before reaching the shelves. With this lengthy process of checks and balances, it is unlikely that any medicine could reach the public that was still unsafe. Secondly, given the fact that governments have a profound understanding of the needs of society, they could make wise decisions which is the best way to prioritize expenditure on specific areas of research. One example is the development of renewable energy to meet growing demands.

In conclusion, with all aforementioned reasons, I strongly believe that governments should shoulder all responsibilities for scientific research.