Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals claim that scientific research should be conducted by governments instead of private corporations. While it is true that the authorities should be responsible for carrying out research, I would argue that these activities should also be done by companies.

To begin with, the main benefit of governments taking care of scientific research is that the quality of these studies is scrupulously tested, and these researches will be used to benefit society as a whole. Unlike companies, analyses by governments are carried out in a strict process and tested many times before these results are officially applied; therefore, it is rare to see that these researches can do harm to users. Besides, as the primary purpose of the authorities’ investigations is to enhance the quality of citizens’ life instead of focusing on maximization profits like private corporations, so, residents might be directly benefited from the results. For example, many environmental studies carried out by governments will reduce the effects of global warming, and people; thereby, will be undoubtedly benefited from these activities.

However, I believe that the authorities should share responsibility with private companies for some reasons. The first reason is that this could help to lessen the governments’ pressure on the budget. Resultantly, residents would have to pay lower taxes, and the authorities would also have more cash into more productive purposes, such as the development of infrastructure, industries, hospitals, etc. Another reason is that since the aim of corporations is yielding high profits, they will conduct the research quickly and efficiently. For instance, as COVID-19 is spreading out in many counties, many private companies’ studies about this virus have been urgently conducted, and the results of these researches have helped reduce the spreading speed in some countries.

In conclusion, I believe that both governments and private companies should be involved in research activities.