Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, there is a major issue that should the government or the private companies take charge in conducting scientific research. In my viewpoint, the government should control these academic studies and all the companies that do the research.

On the one hand, the conduction of scientific studies by the government is towards universal welfare. If scientific projects are launched by private companies, we cannot expect their outcome are outright for society's benefit. Taking pharmaceutical companies as an example, new drugs should have gone through rigorous processes of examination and trial before being consumed on the market. For economic benefits, some private companies may cut down steps in the process which can lead to major consequences. Besides, private companies may also carry out unauthorized research related to nuclear power or unethical human experimentation that poses grave hazards to human beings.

On the other hand, scientific studies founded and controlled by the government is of significant benefits. The primary reason is that studying scientific issues require great effort and the collaboration of different countries is of necessity. Plus, by cooperating in the projects, the relationship between countries and countries can be tightened. The capability of providing financial assistance is another reason why the government should manage scientific investigations. When a project fails to achieve its objectives, the government has the ability to deal with its remains and aftermath.

In conclusion, I believe the government should play the dominant role in carrying out scientific research and private companies should study under the control of the government.