A serious problem affecting countries right across the globe is the lack of water for drinking, washing and other household uses. Why do many countries face water shortage, and what could be done to alleviate the problem?

Over the last few years, it seems that water shortage has become a serious issue which affecting the whole world. There are a variety of possible reasons for this problem, but measures could be definitely taken to tackle with it.

Water crisis in the world is getting worse as demand for water increases while the availability of resources is decreasing. One of the main reasons of this problem is that more people are using water more carelessly which means that they use excessive water for minor reasons. For instance, tap water is used to wash the car instead of using a single wet towel for cleaning. To tackle this issue, the government should not only increase water charge, especially for extra uses, while it should impose fines on water wastage such washing car at street. Another reason which may cause water shortage is that the population of the world has rapidly increased in the past 50 years which increases water consumption. This problem is exaggerated in areas with a low natural water supply. The solution is for the government to invest more on filtered water to increase resources for domestic use.

Furthermore, pollution is a major contributor to water shortage in the world today. Water pollution is due to disposal harmful substances into clean water systems which are playing a major part in reducing the amount of water available for consumption. This problem could be addressed by designing efficient waste disposal system in order to prevent water pollution. Also, sea dumping should be strictly prohibited by authorities.

In conclusion, water lack is an urgent problem with many reasons contributing to it. Such as water wastage, increase population and human activities. To solve this problem, we should all cooperate with the government in minimizing our usage.