Should animals be used in testing new drugs and procedures?

Gives reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Animals and humans are almost the same kind, as they have the same response to most of the drugs. It’s okay to use any kind of brute or animal in drug experiments. This essay will discuss the debate about using animals in testing drugs, whether researchers have the right to do it or not.

The drug research is a complicated process, time-consuming, and costly; and the end result is never known at the outset. It was estimated that, on average, it takes eight-and-a-half years to study and test a new drug that can achieve the desirable result without too serious side effects. In the past, scientists were using humans as guinea pigs and hundreds of people were killed due to various experiments. As a result animals were used instead of human beings.

“Killing a hundred animals is superior to killing one human”. Hence animals were used in wars, labs, and experimental fields. To this point, the search for a new drug has been confined to a laboratory test tube. Next, scientists have to test those compounds that have shown at least some desired effects in living animals. Drug companies make every effort to use as few animals as possible and to ensure their humane and proper care.

More often than many scientists care to admit researchers just have to give up when a drug is poorly absorbed, unsafe, or simply doesn’t work. The pharmaceutical organization estimated that only 5 in 5,000 compounds that enter preclinical testing make it to human testing, and only 1 of those 5 may be safe and effective.

To sum it up, issues such as ‘cruelty’ to animals and the humane treatment of animals are valid concerns, and hence, the use of animals in experiments is greatly regulated.