Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree?

One giant source of ailments and mortality around the globe is smoking. Hence, it is condemned that prohibiting the usage and manufacture of cigarettes and other goods related to it is something government should do for sake of wider public health. Even though it sounds right and is right, nevertheless, I do not agree with the notion as it will give rise to lot more problems such as unemployment than mitigating the existing ones like death rates.

Smoking is injurious to health is matter of fact and can not be changed by normal means. It give rise to various maladies like lung cancer, kidney failure and so on in the bodies of active smoker along with the passive ones - one who inhales the smoke released by other using cigarettes.

A common method to deal with such a problem suggested by the mass public is to aware the smoker about potential consequences of it which in itself does not fit right as many tobacco products have clearly written warning on them to not smoke as it is harmful for health, despite which, smoking is done at an alarming pace. Another solution is to ban the production of such commodities altogether to remove it from the market. Nevertheless, nobody seems to realize the repercussions of such legislation that will lead to mass unemployment especially in countries or cities which are already suffering from these kind of issues like India, Pakistan due to the population boom occurring in recent decade. In turn, it will also enhance the poverty, to reduce which various measures are taken everyday by authorities.

In my opinion, one method that is viable is to production of smoking good which doe not give rise to any ailments, although, it does not sound plausible at all. Beside it, all that can be done is publishing the stories of those who stopped smoking in recent or past decades to let smokers know that with some determination and self-control even they can become one of such persons.

To hammer down the nail, it is not wrong to assume that ban on tobacco products will leads to less deaths and illnesses, however, as a insurance, regime should also make plans to deal with consequential problem arising from such action.