The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the authorities should not allow the widespread consumption of advertising on account of its uselessness. While I agree with this assertion, I partly believe that the upsides of TV commercial cannot be denied.

It is undoubtedly that society will reap benefits from curtailing the popularity of advertisement. Firstly, companies might spare no effort to convince consumers that purchasing things make them happier because the primary goal of advertising is to persuade people to buy products. Therefore, people will over-spend their money on unnecessary goal. Secondly, many large corporations aim their marketing at children because this age group is easily swayed by advertisements. Hence, the media skillfully employs market research to persuade teenage consumers to buy particular goods impulsively and actually put pressure on parents.

However, these aforementioned reasons can be seen as the opposite angle. One reason is that people who work in advertising are now unemployed without advertisements. In fact, companies also make less profit because of the reduced number of potential customers. Another reason is that lack of information about the products offered in the market, buyers would find it difficult to make buying decisions. For example, if there is no TV promotion, I do not know what prestigious sport shoe brands to buy because shoes with lower quality are currently omnipresent on the market. As a result, there are a host of issues with regard to the reduction of the media.

In conclusion, while the executive branch should offer policies of cutting down the booming field of advertising, I totally believe that its benefits are inevitable.