The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that the whole of society should prohibit all types of advertising as it is pointless and can even be harmful. While this essay agrees that advertising has negative impacts, the writer also believes that it brings about several advantages to society.

On the one hand, advertising brings about some drawbacks to society. Firstly, advertising often exaggerates the quality and effect of products. Therefore, when customers receive products that do not meet their expectations, they will be disappointed and can not trust other advertisements. Secondly, a lot of companies use marketing that aims at children. In fact, firms often use eye-catching images and lively jingles to attract kids. As a result, children will ask their parents to purchase these things without knowing about the quality and price of these products.

On the other hand, there is a variety of benefits of advertising. The first point is that marketing creates customer’s demand. This is because advertisements supply a lot of information on things that they need or will be useful for them in the future. Thus, this is a key part of free-market economies. Another point is that thanks to advertising, people have awareness of available choices. Because numerous companies sell the same product, these companies have to compete with each other in the quality and price of the product to attract consumers. Therefore, buyers can make the decision that is the most suitable for them.

In conclusion, although advertising would be restricted because there are some downsides that it causes, advertising has become an integral part of daily life.