Some children find learning history at school very exciting, but many others think it is very boring. In what ways can history be brought to life for all school children?

Most children think of boring lectures and lists of important dates to remember when they hear the words History class. This can be changed by a number of improvements to the class.

The best way to improve the history class would be to get students involved. Students often dread the thought of sitting for an hour listening to their teacher ramble on. This can be changed by getting them interacting with one another and having them become an active part of the lesson. For instance, it would be a good practice to assign roles of some historical events to each student and allow them to recreate the situations.

Another good way to improve the history class is to teach outside of the classroom. Students will therefore have an opportunity to leave the confinement of their desks and get a change of scenery. To incorporate history into a field trip, it is ideal to take the class to a historical village or even local buildings in the community such as a court house or library. This will make history more entertaining for the students and they will get to see it before their eyes.

Also it can be helpful if a history teacher is a good story teller. Although teaching the history class is not simply about storytelling, students generally find the lecture more interesting and easier to understand if their teacher tells better stories. By incorporating different elements into the lecture such as power point or even movie clips, teachers can make storytelling easier and more interactive.

In conclusion, the history class does not have to be tedious because there are many ways to make it a fun learning experience for students.