Some cities have vehicle - free days, when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned in the city centre. Public transportation like buses, taxis and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Pollution and traffic jams have become a pestering problem in many urban areas around the world. Thus, vehicle-free days are introduced to give way to public transport, although this approach remains a controversy. This essay will highlight the merits and drawbacks of this approach before representing my own opinion.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that banning private cars and motorcycles poses several negative impact on individuals and public transportation. A significant point is that buses, undergrounds and trains are nowhere as convenient as private vehicles. To specify, it takes a long time for passengers to hustle in the crown for a seat and arrive at the destinations after a variety of stops. In addition, this method poses a pressure on public transports, which affects the speed and services. According to some recent studies, the figure of train and bus commuters rises by 35 percent on vehicle-free days in some city centres. As a result, public vehicles and terminals are overloaded, leading to the commuters’ displeasure.

On the other hand, increasing the frequency of using public transports is inevitably beneficial to the environment and the whole society. Firstly, since vehicle is the primary contributor to the local pollution, they should be discouraged. To be particular, by this way, there would be a sharp fall in the amount of dust, toxic waste released including carbon monoxide and nitrogen dioxide and gas into the air. Therefore, local warming is reduced and the public health is strengthened, as citizens are less vulnerable to asthma and lung cancers. Secondly, taking buses and light rails is more secure than driving not only in terms of vehicle safety, but also with regards to driving habits and training of operators. Transit operators receive more training on the regular basis than the average automobile drivers. Statistically, bus - and - train related accidents happen at the lower rate than car travel does.

All in all, despite several obvious detriments, I firmly believe that the advantages of public transport outweigh the disadvantages. Moreover, it may be a wise practice since all the inefficiency and passenger discontent would be addressed, provided the government offers grants to public transportation infrastructure.