Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In a few certain nations, the elderly are permitted to work until the extent of age they desire. While there exist some drawbacks to this phenomenon, the benefits are more eclipse.

Given the fact that old individuals are comprising of a noticeable number of contemporary population and having an upward tendency in recent decades, the working limit age of senior citizens has been relatively increased, even unlimited in some countries. When an old person does a job, there are more chances for him to make his own’s ends meet, which means the aged individuals can be able to be less dependent on their children, even under certain circumstances, old ones have the ability to support their children financially. In addition to the decrease of burdens on the young in terms of money, old people having plenty of experience in working are easier to accomplish the job compared to young workers acquired specialized training.

However, economics, in general, has experienced several breakthroughs due to the technological revolution, it is expected that the work now requires new labor forces that have the creativity, accuracy, and a quick adaption to new changes. This leads to a relative result that the act of lengthening the retired age indirectly flourishes the unemployment especially young ones who have more innovative and high-tech ideas to replace aged workers who are no longer suitable.

To recapitulate, the limitless working age of old individuals is somehow not beneficial to the development of the community. Hence, a country should consider balancing the number of working people reasonably and adjust an appropriate retirement age.