In some countries, the criminal trials are shown on the TV and the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is much lively debate about whether it is an appropriate approach to present the criminal trials to the public through television. Some people argue that this is a negative development. However, this essay will argue why the pros of such progress overweigh the cons.

On the one hand, the judgement to criminals through a television programme has presented a trend of positive development. To begin with, this sort of TV show provide the truth of crime with informative details. This helps people to have access to knowledge about what they interested such as the law or policy. Secondly, these trials open to the public will decrease the crime rate to a certain extent because people will be informed of the consequence they have to face if commit a crime. Furthermore, people will acquire more knowledge about some particular crime and learning some preventable skills. For instance, the increasing number of elderly scam has become a serious problem, if these people would watch more criminal trials related to the scam, then their damage may be avoidable.

On the other hand, the criminal judgement face to the people in public will trigger some negative consequence. Some people argue that some potential criminals may break the law by copy the crime that they have learnt from television. From my counter-argument of this statement, if these people intended to commit a crime, they would found any information they need in this digital era. Another reason often mentioned is that the privacy of victims will be exposed and considered as a second hurt. However, according to recently advanced technology, the victim's face and voice could be change when they showed on TV.

In conclusion, this essay has argued both sides of the criminal judgement on TV, although there is some minor influence on the public, such TV show played an important role in current society. Personally, I strongly believe the benefits to the public overweigh the negative development.