In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a common phenomenon that in some countries, especially in developed countries, the age gap between generations is increasingly bigger than it used to be. From my perspective, it is beneficial for both parents and children.

It is undeniable that the difference in age may bring some disadvantages. First of all, for mothers, birthing children in relatively old age means they might face a high risk. For example, their physical organism may not be as strong as when they were young and the children could be unhealthy as others. Besides, when their children still need to take care, other couples’ children already grow up and they have a chance to enjoy their retired life. And also, they may have different opinions about some questions which may lead to a greater gap.

Although there are a few disadvantages, I still believe a greater age difference benefit a lot. Couples who birth children late usually means they save enough money and have a rounded preparation. They have the ability to provide children with rich material life and good qualified education. Parents experience more and they can teach children more. Growing in a good family atmosphere is also helpful for children to develop a positive attitude. Experienced parents usually set good examples for children. In this way, the younger generation tends to get well-rounded development and accomplish achievement in the right direction.

In conclusion, I argue that a bigger age difference between the two generations is helpful for both parents and children. It can be regarded as a positive trend.