Some countries encourage teenagers to have a part-time job and see it as a good thing, while others disagree. Give your opinion and explain both views.

The existence of different views in regards to part-time employment opportunities for teenagers in different countries is undeniable. There are supporters and opponents to this debate. In my opinion, adolescents also have an equal right to employment and the choice should be made by individuals rather than by the country on their behalf.

Irrespective of age and any other factor, a person should be able to earn money by using their skill if they wish to. Involvement in a job that rewards with a salary not only lead to the development of important characters such as punctuality, problem-solving, critical thinking and teamwork but also foster independence. Some people contradict to this by saying younger people in their tender age should enjoy their life. However, they do not realise that enjoyment these days comes with a price. Nothing is better than people being able to afford their own luxury. Different stories are heard where teenagers have worked and supported their family in the time of crisis which could not have been possible if the country had no policy to employ teenagers.

On the other hand, Adolescents are discouraged to have a job by the people and policy because they are thought to be immature. For example, many vacancies demand experience which does not really support the young population. There is another prominent opinion people often talk about that providing job opportunities to teenagers reduces the opportunity for young adults which in my opinion is very irrational because jobs are granted to those who have required skills, knowledge, attitude and experience.

To conclude, despite belonging to any age group, every individual has the right to choose for themselves and decide if they want to work. Hence, I am a strong advocate of the provision of part-time employment for teenagers.