In some countries, the government has tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hour. Do you think the development is positive or negative ?

Traffic has always been a burning issue for any governments in every countries all over the world. Several measures have been taken to decrease traffic such as imposing congestion tax during peak hours. I believe this as a positive development.

There are several advantages of congestion tax. Firstly, imposing tax can reduce rush hour traffic jam in urban areas. People are discouraged from using their own vehicles and this method encourage them to use public transport. If many people have access to public transport, they will stop going by car. Hence, the congestion will gradually decline. In addition, using public transports will save the money and resources of both individuals and society. Secondly, imposition on congestion helps government earn more legitimate revenue. Therefore, they can invest that amount to improve its transport infrastructures as well as upgrading and expanding public transport provision. For example, the authorities of London have spent a large amount of money on improving capacity and reliability of the subway system in order to ease traffic flow in city centre.

Apart from the practical benefits expressed above, i believe that one of main advantages of congestion charge is to alleviate environmental problems. This regulation limits the use of personal vehicle. Due to fewer car used, the exhaust fumes from cars will be less. Consequently, air and noise pollution will be lessened, which contribute to protecting the environment. Furthermore, the city become more attractive for pedestrians and cyclists, which will help increase quality of life.

In conclusion, for all reasons mentioned above, I believe that the congestion tax is a progressive turn as it is beneficial for both citizens and environment as a whole.