In some countries, a high proportion of criminal acts are committed by teenagers. Why has this happened? what can be done to deal with this?

One disquieting problem faced by many countries is juvenile delinquency. Juvenile delinquency, also simply called delinquency, is referring to antisocial and unlawful behavior in which person under the age of 18 commits it. This abusive behavior which is known as the child and adolescent version of crime occurs more and more in the world. This essay will depict about this phenomenon encompassing both of the potential reasons which affect the number of this offense and the effective solutions which should be implemented to tackle this problem.

Two possibly quintessential reasons for a high number of delinquencies are environment and economic perspective. Firstly, there is no doubt that neighborhood significantly impact on a person’s development including their behavior, for instance, friendship. Friends have an important influence to form the child’s character either to be good or bad as a child will copy peers. Bad friendship, especially and ultimately, is the one potential factor contributing to the number of delinquency. Secondly, another factor is economic perception. Delinquency is an indicator of the general prosperity of country. In society with low level of prosperity, the number of juvenile violation is noted higher than other countries on it. In another word, citizens, mainly children and adolescents of that country do offenses because perhaps they do not have another choice to satisfy their life necessary except delinquency. Consequently, many countries create a number of greatly helpful decisions to conquer it.

One effective way to overcome this worrying delinquency is through comprehensive strategy. It is multidisciplinary way from government collaborating with families, schools, communities, and other related parties. It is four helpful principles that can be done : (1) strengthening and enhancing the family in its main responsibilities to form the children’s moral and character, and also controlling their activities in neighborhoods; (2) enhancing the supporting from core social institutions such as schools, religion communities, and social communities; (3) releasing and promoting delinquency prevention campaign; (4) establishing a system of comprehensively graduated sanctions depending on the level and frequency of violation. As a result, if those principles is implemented in a country, a number of juvenile offenses will be reduced significantly, moreover, not exist anymore.

To sum up, a tremendous threatening behavior, the juvenile delinquency is caused by two potential causes such as an environment and economic perspective. To tackle this issue, a comprehensive strategy from government is believed as the effective way to solve it collaborating with families, communities, and other related parties.