In some countries, people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

There has been a tendency that employees are devoting long working hours in some parts of the world. This phenomenon has stemmed from pressure at work and at home. I totally believe that this development will have adverse impacts on people's physical and mental health.

There are several reasons why workers are spending more hours at workplace, Firstly, they are often pushed to meet deadlines given by their employers to receive regular paycheck. This is because in working environment, boosting sales and generating profits are priorities and employers often exploit their workers to gain productivity and revenue. Therefore, the employees usually have no choice but to finish the enormous workload before going home. Secondly, some people going to work have the hope of gaining more money to provide for their families. They would need salary to send their children to a good school or to build a decent house for the whole family. These financial burdens are the key factors making them stay long hours at work.

From my point of view, working long hours can be detrimental to workers' health. With regard to mental health, facing stress and pressure would lead to several mental disorders such as depression. This is because they would have little or no free time to relax or entertain themselves. In terms of physical health, their bodies would suffer from some illnesses due to working excessively. For example, lack of sleep and exercises can cause a variety of health problems including obesity, heart attack, or even cancers.

In conclusion, the trend of working intensively can be explained by the pressure that workers have to face on a daily basis. I contend that this development can be unhealthy for the workforce and people should maintain a work-life balance lifestyle.