In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which of these two systems is more appropriate in today’s world?

It has always been a controversial issue over whether the general education or specific education is deemed more suitable for secondary students. While people argue that the latter alternative would be better for students, I firmly believe that both are required in children’s development.

There is no denying the fact that they have access to a wide range of field would be more beneficial for them in many different ways. Students can grasp an overall of understanding of various aspects and develop personal skill. This is necessary for teenagers to deal with a multitude of problems they might encounter in their daily life. For instance, Mathematical calculation would come to the rescue in case of totaling the bills; Chemistry would be a huge assistance if you purchase drugs at a pharmaceutical store; malfunctioning electrical appliances due to the ignorance of fundamental knowledge of Physics could be quite unsettling; momentous events happening in overseas countries are often considered good conversation and they need to cultivate his English or France. Additionally, education curricula with multiform of subjects help students to have more opportunities to determine their career passion. Hence, it is somehow necessary for children to be taught many subjects in their early stage of schooling.

As children grow up, specific education on learning one or two particular subjects is more useful for them to some extent. This is simply due to the fact that this is the best choice because it would facilitate secondary students’ future career preparation. A training program will allow students to nurture in-depth knowledge and skills in the occupation they set their hearts on, paving a way for major professional advances. The job available in today’s world increasingly demands job seekers in one particular skill. In the current overwhelming competitive labor market, having a deeper insight into one sphere will make you stand out from other applicants. Furthermore, strongly focusing on profession-oriented modules can maximize students’ effort and time.

In conclusion, both general and specific education play equally important roles in children’s various stage of their life. It is reasonable to take advantage of both educational systems so as to develop their potential competency to the fullest.