In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

A topical issue in modern society is home-schooling. It is often said that the number of parents who teach their children at home is rising compare to sending them to schools. This essay will examine the benefits and drawbacks of this view and provide an overall opinion.

There are two main advantages of educating children at home. Firstly, it is appropriate for some families who live in isolated areas with poor transport. In addition to that, some parents are not satisfied with local schools. Secondly, one-to-one lessons allow much faster progress. To be specific, the child can work at his or her pace, and thus, children may gain a wide range of knowledge and broaden their horizons.

On the other hand, there are also some disadvantages of schooling for children at home. First of all, most parents do not have the time to educate their children. As a result, one parent would need to give up work and support their children efficiently. Furthermore, children will miss out on the social experience that school offers. This is because children can learn how to get on with each other at school, whereas home-schooled children may lack social skills.

In conclusion, it much be said that home-schooling has clear advantages and disadvantages. I am of the opinion that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages because schools offer a better overall educational experience rather than educating by parents at home. If children have a solid foundation of education, they will ensure the quality of their lives in the coming future.