Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays, laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants have been passed by some countries. There are some possible advantages and disadvantages from imposing such rules that I will explain below.

Regarding the benefits, first is lessening the cleanliness issue in public buildings. This is because of fewer number of tobacco ashes produce by the smokers. When some wastes such as tobacco ashes have been disappeared, the buildings will become a comfortable place for everybody. Furthermore, the restriction of smoking tobacco in public places can increase the level of public health because of some decreases on the air pollution. So that, people are able to enjoy the fresh air.

Moving the drawbacks, first, it is plain that smoking in public buildings will pose some economic tremors. This policy will affect a chaos in tobacco market. The reason is inclining number of tobacco consumption. Finally, another impact is profit loss in public places. As the major population in some countries like Indonesia, smokers feel uncomfortable to visit such places with smoking restriction. For example, in some countries, restaurant which provides a smoking area becomes the favorite destination than that without smoking area.

In conclusion, the positive sides of passing some laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings are lessening the cleanliness issue in public buildings and increasing the level of public health. Meanwhile, some drawbacks such as economic tremor and profit loss in some public places should not be forgotten as well.