Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

A constitution to terminate smoking has been enacted by some countries especially in public place, such as offices and restaurants. This essay thus will describe some potential benefits and drawbacks.

Regarding the advantages, one main point is that the number of smoker would decrease. It has been widely known that smoking involves our body, such as lung and heart, at serious risk of being suffered from cancer. Hence, only after providing no-smoking public areas will smoker realize to suspend this activity or at least to limit their amount of time to smoke in order to regain health. Furthermore, it is certain that the ban of smoking in public would be beneficial for providing healthy environment especially for passive smoker. It means that this public regulation could prevent secondhand smoke and air pollution to be inhaled by others in free air. In another word, Lawful as smoking has been for entitlement, this activity should not be for forfeiting others’ human rights as non-smoker.

Turning to the disadvantages, it is apparent that banning smoking in public will pose some economic problems. One of those is that this law will raise unemployment level. This means that cigarette companies will wisely decide to dismiss their employees, if they economically declare bankrupt due to some trouble related to market share as an impact of reducing the number of tobacco smokers. In addition, this ban will further reduce the national income, especially for the tobacco-producing countries, which can be seen on agricultural and industrial sectors. This happens when the profit taxes from commercial-farming and industrial activities of tobacco fall down as well as a decrease in the level of producing and marketing cigarette.

Overall, it is reasonable to conclude that terminating smoking in public offers some health benefits for both active and passive smoker. Still, there will be some major drawbacks in economic sector that should be concerned.